Home Race-Results Laurens Sweeck wins X²0 Badkamers Trofee Krawatencross

Laurens Sweeck wins X²0 Badkamers Trofee Krawatencross

Image 1 of 2

Belgian Laurens Sweeck celebrates as he crosses the finish line of the mens elite race of the Krawatencross cyclocross in Lille the seventh stage out of 8 in the X2O Trofee Veldrijden competition Sunday 07 February 2021BELGA PHOTO DAVID STOCKMAN Photo by DAVID STOCKMANBELGA MAGAFP via Getty Images

Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) celebrates his win in Lille (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)
Image 2 of 2

Belgian Michael Vanthourenhout Belgian Laurens Sweeck and Dutch Corne Van Kessel on the podium after the mens elite race of the Krawatencross cyclocross in Lille the seventh stage out of 8 in the X2O Trofee Veldrijden competition Sunday 07 February 2021 BELGA PHOTO DAVID STOCKMAN Photo by DAVID STOCKMANBELGA MAGAFP via Getty Images

Sweeck, Vanthourenhout and Van Kessel celebrate with their prizes on the podium (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) took his second win of the weekend at a snowy Krawatencross in Lille, the seventh round of the X²0 Badkamers Trofee.

The Belgian soloed to victory after breaking away from an elite group of riders on the second lap of the race, eventually beating his teammate Michael Vanthourenhout by nine seconds. Corné Van Kessel (Tormans) rounded out the podium, 14 seconds down.

Series leader Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) held onto his lead with a fourth-placed finish, 31 seconds back. He takes a near-insurmountable lead of 3:02 into the final round in Brussels next Sunday.

Iserbyt had been on course for a top-three finish before making a mistake late on and settling for fourth. Vanthourenhout’s second place was also secured late on, as the 27-year-old accelerated past Van Kessel on the final snow-bound section of the race.

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:59:06
2 Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:00:09
3 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:00:14
4 Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:00:31
5 Quinten Hermans (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:00:38
6 Toon Aerts (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:00:42
7 Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) Teika-BH-Gsport 0:00:47
8 Lars Van der Haar (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions 0:00:55
9 Niels Vandeputte (Bel) Alpecin – Fenix 0:01:03
10 Daan Soete (Bel) Group Hens – Maes Containers 0:01:07
11 Toon Vandebosch (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:01:12
12 Jens Adams (Bel) 0:01:32
13 Thomas Mein (GBr) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:01:55
14 David Van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin – Fenix 0:01:57
15 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Group Hens – Maes Containers
16 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:02:02
17 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Group Hens – Maes Containers 0:02:10
18 Timon Rüegg (Swi) Cross Team Legendre 0:02:36
19 Joran Wyseure (Bel) 0:02:45
20 Timo Kielich (Bel) Credishop-fristads 0:02:50
21 Emiel Verstrynge (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:03:19
22 Ryan Kamp (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:03:22
23 Yentl Bekaert (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:03:29
24 Lander Loockx (Bel) Group Hens – Maes Containers 0:03:59
25 Kevin Kuhn (Swi) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:04:06
26 Thibau Nys (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:04:16
27 Loris Rouiller (Swi) Alpecin – Fenix 0:04:47
28 Clement Horny (Bel) 0:04:50
29 Hugo Jot (Fra) Ardennes Cross Team 0:05:00
30 Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel) 0:05:07
31 Witse Meeussen (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:05:19
32 Arne Baers (Bel) 0:05:27
33 Lennert Belmans (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:05:32
34 Ward Huybs (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:05:56
35 Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Nesta – Skoda Alecar cx Team 0:06:09
36 Len Dejonghe (Bel) Group Hens – Maes Containers 0:06:23
37 Joachim Van Looveren (Bel) Proximus – Alphamotorhomes – Doltcini CT 0:06:34
38 Arno Van den Broeck (Bel) 0:06:55
39 Klaas Groenen (Ned) 0:07:00
40 Wout Vervoort (Bel) 0:07:36
41 Dolf Pemen (Bel) Proximus – Alphamotorhomes – Doltcini CT 1 lap
42 Jens Gys (Bel) 1 lap
43 Timothé Gabriel (Fra) 2 laps
44 Ydris Salomez (Bel) Proximus – Alphamotorhomes – Doltcini CT 3 laps
45 Jonathan Anderson (USA) 3 laps
46 Cameron Jette (Can) 4 laps
47 Vincent Oger (Bel) 4 laps
DNF David Menut (Fra) Cross Team Legendre
DNF Steve Chainel (Fra) Cross Team Legendre
DNF Stan Godrie (Ned)
DNF Anton Ferdinande (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal
DNF Théo Thomas (Fra) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team
DNF Justin Laevens (Bel) Proximus – Alphamotorhomes – Doltcini CT
DNS Pim Ronhaar (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Muc-off launches ‘the world’s fastest chain lube’

Muc-Off has today unveiled the latest product in its line-up, an all-new raceday lubrication, which it claims is the fastest in the world. Known as...

2021 UCI Road World Championships: 5 riders to watch in elite men’s time trial

The elite men's time trial opens the 2021 UCI Road World Championships on Sunday as part of a new programme for the full week...

What is a gravel bike?

Take a cyclo-cross bike, a mountain bike, and a road bike, mash them all together and you get the almighty gravel bike. Modern-day gravel bikes...

Valgren wins Giro della Toscana

Image 1 of 13Michael Valgren (EF Education-Nippo) (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)Image 2 of 13Alessandro de Marchi and Alessandro Fedeli racing with the Italian...

Recent Comments